

July 22, 2021

The Empire Club of Canada Announces 2021-22 Board of Directors

The Empire Club of Canada is pleased to announce its Board of Directors for its 118th season.

As Canada's go-to forum for conversations that matter, the Empire Club of Canada's Board of Directors play an integral role in supporting the organization's mission through the development and production of over 40 events annually, including its signature "Nation Builder of the Year Award".

On Thursday, June 24th at the Empire Club's Annual General Meeting, 35 Directors were elected to the 2021-2022 Board, including a new President, Kelly Jackson.

"Public dialogue has immense power to connect people to ideas and each other. For more than a century, the Empire Club of Canada has been a platform for critical conversations and as a club of record continues to uniquely chronicle this public discourse," said Jackson. "I am excited to see how the diverse experiences and perspectives of our Board members will help build on that legacy and create new opportunities for Canadians to engage on the important issues of our time."

The past season offered virtual events only due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, engaging audiences across the country and abroad. The Club is optimistic that the upcoming season will see its virtual events complemented with the return of in-person events as soon as it is safe and viable.

Board of Directors 2021-2022 Season

Simmer Anand Manager, Indigenous Relations, Hydro One Networks

> Chris Benedetti Managing Partner, Sussex Strategy Group

Carrie Bois, Treasurer Chief Executive Officer, C+B Consulting

Megan Boyle Director of Public Affairs, Red Bull Canada

Richard Carleton CEO, Canadian Securities Exchange

> Matthew Cauz Radio Host, TSN 1050

Shakir Chambers Principal, Earnscliffe Strategy Group

Pierre Cyr Senior Vice-President, Public Affairs, Fleishman Hillard HighRoad, Ottawa

> Jenna Donelson, Secretary Public Affairs Manager, Humber College

> > Kent Emerson Principal, Valorem Insights

Dr. Mohamad Fakih President & CEO, Paramount Fine Foods, Voice of UNHCR Canada: The UN Agency in Canada

> Kulvir Singh Gill, 3rd Vice-President Senior Strategist, Clareo

Kelly Jackson, President Associate Vice-President, Government Relations, Marketing and Communications, Humber College

> Barbara Jesson President and CEO, Jesson Communications

John J. Kirton Director, G7 Research Group, G20 Research Group, BRICS Research Group; Professor, Political Science, University of Toronto

Michael Kobzar Director of Sales, Power Transmission & Distribution, Ontario, Siemens Energy Canada

Arthur Kong Director of Project Development, Next Generation Manufacturing Canada

> Atrisha Lewis Partner, McCarthy Tetrault

Dr. Gordon K. McIvor President, Empire Club Foundation

Carla Nell President & Chief Executive Officer, Burlington Chamber of Commerce

Tenny Nigoghossian Fundraising and Strategic Consultant, Arts & Culture Sector

> Farah Qasemi Lead Account Partner, IBM

Sal Rabbani, 1st Vice-President Managing Partner, BDC Advisory Services, Business Development Bank of Canada

> Keerthana Rang Director, Communications, Radical Ventures

Rick Roth Vice-President, Strategic Communications, Global Public Affairs, Ontario

> Daniel Safayeni Vice-President, Policy, Ontario Chamber of Commerce

Marsha Seca Senior Vice-President, Public Affairs, Edelman

> Natasha Smith Partner, Miller Thomson LLP

Tim Smitheman Vice-President, Rubicon Strategies

Antoinette Tummillo, Immediate Past President President, Antoinette Tummillo & Associates Inc.

> Sue VanderBent CEO, Home Care Ontario

Michael Van Soelen Managing Principal, Navigator Ltd.

Jan Westcott, 2nd Vice-President President & CEO, Spirits Canada

William (Bill) F. White Chairman, IBK Capital Corp.

Paul M. Yeung Director of Public Affairs, JTI-Macdonald Corp.